Personal Website: Goals

While thinking about making a website, there are certain aspects that have to be taken into account.

MoonfruitLogo_large

Each website needs to achieve a goal. Essentially, it needs to have a purpose.

  • Purpose: For me, this new website will be a work sample and portfolio to show to potential employers as well as post-graduate programs. This will also be an really useful skill to have a president of an organization. With this knowledge I’ll hopefully be able to make a functional website for that organization! Lastly, it will be a personal site I can show my family and friends. I mean, I will have designed a website. That’s a big deal.
  • Audience: mostly be members of the administration for these schools or organizations. My audience is also my professor and family and friends.
  • What visitors will want from the site: a work sample, resume, all major projects, information about me, contact information. I was contemplating putting a cover letter up there, but I decided against it.

Screen shot 2014-04-22 at 7.58.49 AM

  • What I want from the site: I mainly want this to be a reflection of myself and my work. I want it to be organization, easy to use and incredibly simple. It will be impressive in its simplicity, I hope. I found a really helpful blog with tips on making a successful website and I will more than likely reference it throughout the project.
Leave a Reply

