Confusion, slowing minds and ethics questions

These readings looked at the importance of literacy and believability of online writing.

Abraham-Lincoln

 After reading the article on electracy, I was very confused. The definition given was confusing and hard to follow. If I had had a better grasp on the concept, I think the historical contributions would have made the article much easier to follow and more interesting. I researched the concept and found a good explanation, and the new definition made the whole article make more sense. While the actual concept itself was confusing, I was very interested in the some aspects Ulmer addressed. I think developments in technology have opened doors to brand new ethical dilemmas. Because of that, I appreciated that he posed the potentially volatile clash between human nature and our present culture. I also liked Ulmer’s discussion of the different areas of study this concept opens up. He included various dimensions that can be found within electracy, including science, morality, mnemonics, and technology studies. He also suggested that research could be done on the importance of psychological effects of this new form of technology, which I think would be very interesting.

Is the internet actually bad for us? 

Glad I’m not the only one 

The other reading by Nicholas Carr was very easy and enjoyable to read. I immediately identified with what he was discussing, especially losing interest after only a few pages in an article or book. I was extremely interested in the amount of research he did into processes that happen in the brain, such as its malleability. Our brain is constantly changing its way of processing new information, and his article suggests that the internet is greatly affecting how we think. I agree with his reservations about the internet as well, especially about the intellectual laziness. He used a quote by Plato very well when he said that new innovations in communication have the ability to make men “cease to exercise their memory and become forgetful”. I think, as a society, we try to deny how much we rely on the internet. On the same point, we also never want to believe that we have changed our ways of thinking because of our new dependence.

Leave a Reply

